Welcome to Uncommon

Northwest Community Credit Union helps our neighbors thrive by providing time and resources to local programs and organizations that make a difference in the lives of our membersWe believe what truly makes us uncommon is that we are so much a part of the communities we serve. Read more about what we do in our communities.

Most Oregonians qualify for Northwest Community membership. You can become a member for life as long as you, or a relative, live or work in one of 15 Oregon counties listed below. Your relative can be a grandparent, parent, spouse, child, stepchild, grandchild, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, aunt, uncle, or domestic partner.

Counties We Serve

NWCU Membership Benefits

As a not-for-profit financial cooperative, Northwest Community Credit Union is (and has always been) member-owned and managed. What does this mean to you?

  • We measure our success through member satisfaction, not profits.
  • Earnings return to members in the form of better rates and fewer fees.
  • We are deeply invested in our communities and their well-being.
  • Financial statements are transparent and shared monthly.

Here's another perk: exclusive discounts for members using our NWCU Benefits App

As a credit union, we offer everything a bank does and much more!

Joining is Easy

If you're new to NWCU and you're opening an account without any other members, apply online!

New Membership Application

If you'd like to open an account with other members (joint owners or access) or you're an existing member, use this online application: 

 Apply for Membership Online

You can also join by:

  • visiting one of our branches
  • giving us a call at (800) 452-9515

What You'll Need to Open an Account

Federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify, and record information that identifies each person who opens an account. 

To open an account at Northwest Community Credit Union, you’ll need:

  • Valid government-issued photo ID. Either one government-issued ID (like a driver’s license, photo ID card, military ID, or passport), tribal ID card (from federally recognized tribes). ID cards can't be expired or temporary interim cards.
  • Proof of current address. If your current address is on your ID card, you’re all set! If not, you can provide credible proof of address with mailed documents (like a utility bill), rental or mortgage contract, last month’s paystub, a university transcript for current term, mortgage document.
  • Your Social Security Number. If you’re a parent opening up an account with your child, you’ll also need your child’s physical SSN card. 
  • One-time Membership Fee. You'll only need $10 to open your account. 
  • For more specific information, or to confirm whether your identification documents are acceptable, please stop by a branch or call (800) 452-9515.

Are you an SEIU member?

Welcome Service Employees International of the State of Oregon! Follow the prompts to apply online.

Want to refer a friend? 

Everything's better with your friends! Refer a friend to NWCU and you'll both get $50 if they open a checking account!* 

Learn How to Refer a Friend

Read our Membership and Account Agreement, which includes our Funds Availability Policy.

*Credit Union membership and new checking account required. Limit of one $50 gift per new member. $50 gift paid when account is opened and may be reported on a 1099 tax form. Federally insured by NCUA